- ABC-Clio History Online
Simultaneous searching of America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts databases, which are listed separately elsewhere in this list
- Academic LexisNexis
Access to over 9,000 full-text news, business, and legal publications; includes national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources
- Academic Onefile
Contains nearly 9,000 academic journals across science, humanities, and social science disciplines; also includes major Thomson Gale reference sources such as the Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, Gale Encyclopedia of Science, and Dictionary of World Biography.
- Academic Search Premier (from the Alabama Virtual Library)
Multi-disciplinary database containing full text for nearly 2,100 serials, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed publications in nearly every area of academic study. Some full text back to 1985. Updated daily.
The online McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, recent developments, study guides, and biographies.
Current and historical weather data.
- ACS Web Editions
Chemistry, environmental science, pharmaceuticals, related disciplines ; over 30 journals online with archive searching from 1879.
- African American Music Reference
50,000 pages that offers the first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
- AHFS Consumer Medication Information (from the Alabama Virtual Library)
Database of Patient Advisory Leaflets from Lexi-Comp that provides vital education on medications for patients. The approach for each pamphlet is to present each medication in an easy to follow and understand question-and-answer format. The database consists of over 1,450 medication and natural product leaflets, with an additional 600 Spanish language leaflets representing the most subscribed and commonly used medications.
- Alabama Baptist Index
The ABI provides tools for locating subject-specific articles in The Alabama Baptist, a Birmingham-based Christian newspaper, first published in 1843 (current coverage of the online index: 1878-1897, 1984-). For the years 1843-1876, and 1956-1983 contact Special Collection http://library.samford.edu/about/special.html
- Alabama Virtual Library
The AVL consists of a group of online databases that provide magazine, journal, and newspaper articles for research. The Alabama Virtual Library provides all citizens of the State of Alabama with online access to essential library and information resources.
- Alt Healthwatch
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports.
- America: History and Life
Articles on North American history from prehistory to the present; coverage from 1964.
- American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography
Over 4000 narratives by former slaves ; search by subject, location, age, and surnames.
Database containing nearly a million descriptions of archival collections from all over the world. Includes historical documents, personal papers, manuscripts and family histories. Materials have been catalogued and described by librarians and archivists.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Biblical studies, world religions, church histories ; 1949-present.
- Atlanta Journal & Constitution
Major daily newspaper covering national and international news; 1989-present; 1990-present full-text; updated daily.
- AtoZ World Business
World Trade Press is a publishing and information products company dedicated to providing reliable, up-to-date digital media essential for researchers, educators, travelers, and logistics and international trade professionals. These products draw from our Global Knowledgebase of digital reference information, which complements our printed offerings that include maps, books, and atlases.
- Bibliotheca Latina Teubneriana
Latin texts from Bibliotheca Scriptorum Graecorum et Romanorum Teubneriana; Ref PA6105 .B5x; Computer Optical Disk: please see reference staff for assistance.
- Birmingham News Library Infobase
index and text of Birmingham News, 1993 - 1998
- BookSource: Nonfiction (from the Alabama Virtual Library)
Abstracts and full text for more than 2,000 popular, K-12, nonfiction books.
- Boston Globe
Major daily newspaper covering national & international news; 1987 - present; updated daily.
- Business Index ASAP (from the Alabama Virtual Library)
Management issues, economic indicators, business theories and practices, companies and industries worldwide; 1980-present.
- Business Insights: Essentials (from the Alabama Virtual Library)
Business periodicals, company profiles, investment reports, industry overviews; 1980-present.
- Business Source Complete
Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
- Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Business
Includes the Cabell Directories in Accounting, Economics and Finance, Management and Marketing.
CAMIO is an acronym for Catalog of Art Museum Images Online. It is a premiere resource for works of art from around the world, contributed and described by leading museums. Containing a wide range of fine and decorative art, CAMIO provides high-quality art images for education, research and enjoyment. All content is rights-cleared for educational use.
- Career Library from EBSCO
Accessible via the Alabama Virtual Library. A resource to help people looking for jobs and for those exploring career change. Provides information on over 2,500 occupations including job profiles on up-and-coming and out-of-the-ordinary careers. Information on almost 4,000 2-year and 4 year colleges and universities.
- Catholic Periodical and Literature Index, 2003 ed.
Periodicals, books, newspapers, and papal documents ; 1981-present ; located in the Reference Department.
Latin texts with translations in English, French, German, and Italian
Thomson Reuters Checkpoint® is the industry-leader for online information for tax and accounting professionals.
- Chemical Abstracts
The Chemical Abstracts interface is provided by STN Easy. PLEASE NOTE: This database requires a username and password which you can obtain from the Reference Desk. Also, this database can only be searched during off-peak hours: Monday-Friday 5:00 PM to 5:00 AM, Friday 5:00 PM to Saturday 8:00 PM and 12:00AM Sunday - 5:00 AM Monday.
- Chicago Tribune
Major daily newspaper covering national & international news; 1985-present; updated daily.
- Christian Science Monitor
Major daily newspaper covering national & international news; 1988-present; updated daily.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Full text for more than 560 journals; more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1937, CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities; mid-1970s - present; updated quarterly.
- Classical Music Library
World's largest multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries.
- Classical Music Reference Library
More than 40,000 pages of essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database.
- Classical Scores Library
400,000 pages of the most important classical scores and manuscripts, allowing for the study and analysis of more than 25,000 scores.
- Classification Web
LC subject headings and call number correlation
- Cochrane Library
A collection of databases that contain high quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making
- Communication and Mass Media Complete
Communication and mass media index; coverage varies.
- Contemporary Women's Issues (CWI)
Contemporary Women's Issues (health and human rights).
- Credo Reference
Credo is a very large online reference library providing access to the full text of hundreds titles. Materials available include images, sound files, animations, and videos. With Credo, you can locate both quick and simple or more in-depth articles. Credo Reference contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases.
- Curriculum Standards
Curriculum standards are created and published by each state in order to convey the educational requirements in each subject area at each grade level that students are expected to learn and teachers are expected to teach.
- Datamonitor Company Profiles (EBSCO)
Datamonitor Company Profiles from EBSCO
- Dictionary of North American Hymnology
Comprehensive master bibliography and index of hymn collections published in the United States and Canada from 1640-1978 ; see 2nd Floor Reference Desk for assistance.
- Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts
A uniquely exhaustive resource for historians, theologians, political scientists, and sociologists studying the religious and social upheavals of the 16th and 17th centuries, the Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts gives researchers immediate, Web-based access to an extensive range of seminal works from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras.
- Dissertations & Theses A&I (Proquest)
Dissertations & Theses, A&I (ProQuest) provides access to 2.3 million index and abstract records for U.S. and some international dissertations and masters theses. If published after 1997 in electronic PDF format, a 24-page preview of the document is included in the database.
- Drugs, Herbs and Supplements - from Medline Plus
Prescription and over-the-counter medication information for patients.
Clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care; clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics. Check out this guide
on using DynaMed on mobile Apple devices.
- Early Republic
17,000 annotated pages and 250 images, primary material documenting the actions, debates, and thoughts of the First Federal Congress and its members, 1789-1791
- eBook Collection
Full-text access to more than 72,000 electronic books.
- EBSCO Animals (from the Alabama Virtual Library)
K-12; nature and habitat of familiar animals.
Search across several databases; Academic Search, Business Source, Health Source, MasterFILE, and more.
- Educator's Reference Complete
A selection of more than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Included content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.
- Electronic Collections Online
Multi-disciplinary, scholarly journals; 1995-present, coverage varies.
- Encyclopaedia Britannica Academic Edition (from the Alabama Virtual Library)
Multi-disciplinary encyclopedia. Also includes primary sources and Media Collection.
- Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Student Edition (from the Alabama Virtual Library)
Click on "Teachers' Resources" (upper right) to view state curriculum standards and benchmarks.
- Encyclopaedia Judaica
Features more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.
- Encyclopedia of Religion In America
The Department of Religion's Abrams Fund has made possible the acquisiton of the online version of this multidisciplinary, four-volume resource.
- ERIC (from the Alabama Virtual Library)
Education journals and documents [library has documents from 1972 (ED66621)-2003 (ED483004) located in the Annex].
- Ethnic NewsWatch (from the Alabama Virtual Library)
International news from the ethnic, minority, and native press; 1990-present.
- European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
- Expanded Academic ASAP
Multi-disciplinary periodicals; 1980-present.
- Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center
Accessible via the Alabama Virtual Library. Highly acclaimed for providing unparalleled career reference coverage. Profiles of nearly 3,400 jobs and 94 industries, guidance on building job-hunting and workplace skills, and more than 55,000 career and industry resources. An invaluable new feature is the comprehensive school search database with current data provided by Peterson's Nelnet, LLC.