Samford Dissertations
Dissertations held at the SU Library may be found at the following locations:
Doctor of Education dissertations University Library - 3rd Floor - LD 4881.54
Dissertations Databases
These subscription databases are available to current Samford University faculty, staff, and students. These databases do not provide full-text access to dissertations; they provide indexing and some abstracting. Resources listed in the box to the right offer free searching and/or full text access.
- Dissertations & Theses A&I (Proquest)Dissertations & Theses, A&I (ProQuest) provides access to 2.3 million index and abstract records for U.S. and some international dissertations and masters theses. If published after 1997 in electronic PDF format, a 24-page preview of the document is included in the database.
- ERIC (from the Alabama Virtual Library) Education journals and documents [library has documents from 1972 (ED66621)-2003 (ED483004) located in the Annex]. To search for dissertations/theses, type "dissertations/theses" and search by "Publication Type" on the advanced search screen.
- WorldCat by FirstSearch (from the Alabama Virtual Library) Use the advanced search screen. Search for "dissertation" as a "Material type" search.
Interlibrary Loan
Dissertations are not widely available and when they are, usually incur fees for the patron who requests the dissertation.
Beginning May 1, 2009, the University Library will offer Dissertation Express to
all Samford faculty, staff, and students. Using this service, these patrons will be able to buy dissertations
at 25% off the regular cost of a dissertation from the UMI express service. Payment for requested dissertations,
which will be delivered to and held for pickup in the Interlibrary Loan office, must be made by check or in
cash prior to the submission of an order to UMI. Cost per dissertation for faculty, staff,
and students will be $30.00. To take advantage of this discount, patrons should submit their
dissertation requests through ILLiad indicating in the NOTES field that payment may be expected by a
certain date. When payment is received, the dissertation will be ordered.
To purchase a dissertation independent of library services and without the library discount, please check UMI's Dissertation Services.
Internet Finding Tools
This list includes free web sites that provide only indexing, indexing and abstracting, full-text access, and indexing and abstracting with the opportunity to purchase the full text. Please note, in the box to the left, the discount that the library provides should you need to order a dissertation.
- ABES: agence bibliographique de l'enseignement supérieurla bibliographie nationale des thèses en France; the national dissertation bibliography for France
- ADT: Australasian Digital Theses Programa distributed database of digital versions of theses produced by the postgraduate research students at Australian universities
- Caltech Electronic Thesescollection of online theses that can be searched or browsed; from Caltech Library System
- Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog: DissertationsSearch for dissertations from foreign countries; from the Center for Research Libraries which "seeks to provide comprehensive access to doctoral dissertations submitted to institutions outside the U. S. and Canada"
- Directory of History Dissertations - American Historical Association"contains more than 21,000 dissertations that have been completed or are currently -in progress in the United States and Canada since 1882. This directory is the merger of two previous online publications, Dissertations in Progress (online from 1999 to 2005) and the Directory of Completed Dissertations." - from the site
- Dissertation.com - Dissertation Publishers & Abstract Databasecommercial site where dissertations can be purchased or published; free previews of first 25 pages
- Dissertations & Theses A&I (Proquest)Dissertations & Theses, A&I (ProQuest) provides access to 2.3 million index and abstract records for U.S. and some international dissertations and masters theses. If published after 1997 in electronic PDF format, a 24-page preview of the document is included in the database.
- Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology-Online"an international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines"- from the site
- DSpace@MIT : Homedissertations at M.I.T.'s digital repository
- E-Prints Complutensean open access repository of the research literature of the Complutense University of Madrid
- E-theses at the Registry of Open-Access Repositoriessearch or browse
- E-thesis - Electronic Publications of the University of Helsinki"doctoral dissertations and other publications from the University of Helsinki. All of these full-text publications are freely accessible via the Internet." - from the site
- Electronic Theses & Dissertations - University of Miamia publicly available, searchable, full text repository of UM theses and dissertations in PDF format.
- ERIC – Education Resources Information Center - World’s largest digital library of education literaturebibliographic records of education literature; use the advanced search screen and "Publication Type" limiter to search for dissertations/theses
- ETDs@VT: Electronic Theses and Dissertations from the Digital Library and Archives at Virginia Tech's University Librariesover 15,000 records with over 4,000 available full text
- EThOSsearch and order UK theses online; beta
- FCT: Le Fichier central des thèsesdoctoral theses in progress at French institutions
- Les thèses de l'Université Lumière Lyon 2over 1200 theses
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and DissertationsBrowse or search through several ETD collections, typically across multiple institutions at once.
- OhioLINK ETD Center"free, online database of Ohio’s masters and doctoral theses and dissertations from participating OhioLINK member schools. It contains the abstract for all included theses and dissertations. The full-text is also available if it was submitted." -- from the site
- OpenThesis"a free repository of theses, dissertations, and other academic documents, coupled with powerful search, organization, and collaboration tools"; includes some full text
- phdData.orga database of doctoral dissertations in progress around the world
- Portal de Tesis Chilenasdeveloped by the University of Chile (Information Services & Library System); provides an easily accessible tool to 27,000 full text electronic thesis published in 35 countries
- PQDT Openprovides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge
- Research in Ministry Online (ATLA)"database that indexes DMin and DMiss projects from reporting schools of theology accredited by the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada" - from the site
- Rutgers Electronic Theses & Dissertations (RUetd)from Rutgers' graduate programs
- TEL: serveur de thèses multidisciplinaireself-archived theses; over 14,000 fulltext; most if not all in French
- The DART-Europe E-theses Portal (DEEP)a single European portal for the discovery of electronic theses and dissertations; over 100,000 doctoral theses
- Theological Research Exchange Networklibrary of over 10,000 theological thesis/dissertation titles; titles may be ordered online
- Theses Canada Portalcentral access point for Canadian theses
- UMI Dissertation Expressfree search for U.S. dissertations (primarily); dissertations can be purchased in unbound print or sometimes in .pdf format; the University Library offers a limited discount on these prices - see http://library.samford.edu/service/ill_rrs.html for details
- UVa Library: Electronic Thesestheses and dissertations submitted between 1997 and 2002 are available through a catalog search
- Vidyanidhi - Digital Library and E-Scholarship Portal"India's premier Digital library initiative to facilitate the creation, archiving and accessing of doctoral theses" - from the site
- WorldCatfree searching; use the advanced search screen to limit to theses and dissertations in the "Content" field

Loading...
