Last Updated: Jul 11, 2013
Search hundreds of reference titles online.
Click here to ASK US via chat, email, appointment, etc!
Welcome to the Films and Movies subject guide. This guide will assist you with locating articles, books and more. The materials in this guide covers reference materials in book and electronic form, articles in electronic databases, and websites.
The site includes a film finder database of over 220,000 films, a people finder database of over 1.5 million cast and crew as well as a glossary of terms and short essays on film topics written by staff writers.
- FilmSound.org: dedicated to the Art of Film Sound Design & Film Sound Theory
This site includes information about all things related to sound used in film including information on music in film, foley artistry, sound design and a comprehensive bibliography of further sources to explore.
- Folkstreams » The Best of American Folklore Films
Find rare films by independent filmmakers on diverse topics such as music, outsider art, folk crafts, folk dance, religious experience, storytelling ; includes transcripts, essays, and background information for many of the films
- The Internet Movie Database (IMDb)
This well-known site provides excellent cast and crew information as well as release dates, links to official movie websites and reviews.
- Kids In Mind
Intended to help parents, but provides a thorough list of DISCUSSION TOPICS that may elicit questions from children, and the MESSAGE the film conveys.
- MRQE - Movie Review Query Engine
This site's database contains links to reviews for 40,000+ film titles; Some links lead to more reputable sites than others.
- Public Moving Image Archives and Research Centers--National Film Preservation Board (National Film Preservation Board, Library of Congress)
This site is a gateway to moving image archives and film preservation efforts around the world, including a link to the National Film Registry and the Moving Image Collections Catalog which can assist you in finding moving images from archives around the