This is the "Home" page of the "FREN 406: History of French Cinema" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

FREN 406: History of French Cinema  

This guide supplements the suggestions made on the Film Studies guide; it makes recommendations for finding print and online resources dealing specifically with French film history.
Last Updated: Feb 1, 2012 URL: http://samford.libguides.com/frenchcinema Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Searches

These subject searches run in the library catalog and will result either in lists of titles or lists of further headings.  Clicking on a heading will run a search.  Subject headings are good sources for key terms that can be used in other catalogs and databases.

Remember that actors, directors, writers, etc., can be treated as subjects or authors in library catalog searches.

Need Movie Reviews?

Use the link below to discover English language reviews from major publications in some of our larger multidisciplinary databases.  To find reviews in languages other than English, see the link to Academic LexisNexis below.

  • How do I find movie reviews?
    A guide to resources in the SU Library.
  • Academic Lexis-Nexis
    Click on the "Sources" tab, the "Browse Sources" to choose Francophone countries by name and then topics for your search. This is a good way to get to French language news and industry publications.

Databases and Online Indexes

Use the online indexes and databases below to find articles relative to your author/actor/director, theme, subject, genre, etc.  All of these resources should be available to you 24/7 from anywhere that you have an Internet connection.  You will need your Samford ID and password to access these if you are off campus.

  • Multi-Search  Icon
    Search our databases plus the Library Catalog to find articles, books, and more. Be sure to add Gale: Literature Resource Center to your results by clicking the box in the right menu.
  • MLA International Bibliography  
      
    Scholarly research in language, literature, folklore, and linguistics; 1926-present. Use French language titles and spellings in addition to English language searches.
  • Academic Lexis-Nexis
    Click on the "Sources" tab, the "Browse Sources" to choose Francophone countries by name and then topics for your search. This is a good way to get to French language news and industry publications.
  • Academic Onefile  
      
    Contains nearly 9,000 academic journals across science, humanities, and social science disciplines; select "Publication Language" to choose francophone publications.
  • Academic Search Premier (from the Alabama Virtual Library)  
      
      Icon  Icon
    Multi-disciplinary database containing full text for nearly 2,100 serials, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed publications in nearly every area of academic study. Some full text back to 1985. Updated daily.
  • Communication and Mass Media Complete  
      
      Icon  Icon
    Communication and mass media index; coverage varies.
  • JSTOR  
      
    Multi-disciplinary scholarly journal archive; may not include most recent 3-5 years.
  • Oxford Journals  
      
    Online journals from science, technical, professional, medical, humanities, arts, and social science disciplines; coverage varies.
  • PsycINFO  
      
      Icon
    The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s.
  • Reader's Guide Retrospective  
      
      Icon
    Comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the U.S.; reflects the history of 20th century America; 1890-1982; index continues in print in the Reference Dept.; 1982-2006.
  • Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature
    SU Library - Index Reference, 2nd Floor
    comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada; print resource; 1982-2006
  • Sage Publications  
      
    485 + journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
 

Reference Books and Print Indexes

You should browse reference books in call numbers PN1992 - PN1999.  These call numbers cover all aspects of motion pictures.  You should be checking the indexes for your film, director, actor, etc., especially in large reference encyclopedia sets or compilations.

Art Index, 1929-1985
SU Library - Reference, 2nd floor - Index Reference

Humanities Index, 1974 - 1996
SU Library - Reference, 2nd floor - Index Reference

Magill's Survey of Cinema: Foreign Language Films, 8 vols., 1985
SU Library - Reference, 2nd floor -  PN1995.9.F67 M34 1985 
Entries contain summary and brief analysis.

The New York Times
The New York Times offers much of its archive for free to users of the online site.  You can also access the New York Times Index and microform here in the library.  This link has more information about using the print index.

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature
SU Library - Index Reference, 2nd Floor - Index Ref.
comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada; print resource; 1982-2006

Social Sciences and Humanities Index, 1907-1974
SU Library - Index Reference, 2nd Floor - Index Ref.

Social Sciences Index, 1974 - 1995
SU Library - Index Reference, 2nd Floor - Index Ref.

Book Search

Samford University logo 
Please send Comments and Suggestions to the Library web team.

Samford University Library
800 Lakeshore Drive · Birmingham, Alabama 35229 · 205-726-2748

© 1994-2012, Samford University
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip