This is the "Home" page of the "New York Times" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

New York Times   Tags: hist_495, history_senior_seminar, newspapers  

Last Updated: Mar 17, 2011 URL: http://samford.libguides.com/nyt Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Indexing and Abstracting

Indexes to the New York Times can be found in print and online.

 

New York Times Index, 1851 - 2003
SU Library - Index Reference, 2nd Floor

 

Personal name index to "The New York times index," 1851-1974, 22 vols.
SU Library - Reference, Lower Level, Rm 024

 

  • The New York Times
    Home page and site for the "paper of record"; includes archives, frequent updates, news alerts, and more
  • Academic LexisNexis  
      
    Contains the New York Times full-text from June 01, 1980 through current in the Final New York City Edition; and abstracts from January 1, 1969 - May 31, 1980; no earlier indexing available here. Updated daily.
  • New York Times  
      
    Coverage of the US newspaper of record ; 1980-present ; updated daily
  • New York Times Article Archive, 1851 - 1980
    Articles in the public domain, 1851 - 1922, are free. Some fees apply for other articles and premium content. If you are asked to pay, use the library's microform instead with no fees.
  • New York Times Article Archive, 1981 - present
    Articles from 1987 - present are available in full-text for free; photos, charts, and other premium content are available for fee. If you are asked to pay, use the library's microform instead with no fees.
 

Holdings

There are print, electronic, and microform holdings  of the New York Times in the University Library.  Indexing and abstracting can be found in the resources to the left.  The New York Times web site provides frequent updates throughout the day as well as access to archives online.

The University Library owns the New York Times on microform from its beginning in 1851.  We keep the printed paper in the library until the microform arrives.  Electronic subscription access varies among several databases.

If you need assistance with the microform, please ask at the Circulation Desk on the 1st floor.

You may also access the New York Times Article Archive, 1851-1980, and the New York Times Article Archive, 1981 - present online.  Articles in the public domain, 1851 - 1922, are free as are articles from 1987 - present.  All other articles and some premium content (photos, charts, etc.) are available for a fee. 

 

Using the Print Index to the New York Times

Using the NEW YORK TIMES INDEX in print

The print New York Times Index is located on the 2nd floor of the University Library in the Reference Department.  Formatting for the index changed over time; the dates below indicate changes and detail arrangement of subjects and citations.

·       1851-1857: handwritten; single alphabetical sequence; locator references are for issue numbers which can be found on the front page of the paper under the masthead

·       1858-1862: typed; year by year arrangement; locator references are by date, page, and column

·       1863-1874: typed; year-by-year arrangement, years divided in 3- or 4-month periods; broad subject categories: e.g., editorial, foreign, political, war, miscellaneous;  locator references are by date, page, and column

·       1874-1875: typed; year-by-year arrangement, years divided in 3-, 4-, or 6-month periods; editorial, general categories; locator references are by date, page, and column

·       1875-1905: typed; year-by-year arrangement, years divided in 3-, 4-, or 6-month periods; editorial, news categories; locator references are by date, page, and column

·       1905- : topical arrangement; individual volumes annually; locator references are by date, page, and column

Samford University logo 
Please send Comments and Suggestions to the Library web team.

Samford University Library
800 Lakeshore Drive · Birmingham, Alabama 35229 · 205-726-2748

© 1994-2012, Samford University
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip