Database Trials
Trials made available to the SU community will be aggregated here and made available both on and off campus when possible. Database trial periods are listed after the database name. Quoted descriptions are taken from vendors' descriptions made available through the product or on the vendor's web site. Please feel free to rate or comment about these resources, as your opinions will assist us as we make future acquisitions decisions.
If you have comments about or suggestions about these trials please contact Lori Northrup, lanorthr@samford.edu.
Consider the following as you plan to send Lori your comments or questions:
Is this database useful to you in your own research?
Would it be useful and promoted by you to your students?
Did you find the interface easy to use?
What did you expect to find in this resource that you are not finding?
Would you like to see a webinar about this trial resource?
- Corporate Reference Library
The EFIS Corporate Reference Library is a very sophisticated, yet user friendly on-line database that opens up a plethora of corporate information and history (name changes, acquisitions, acronyms, corporate family connections and stockholder equity) on one easy to read screen. The Corporate Reference Library is updated continuously and has 24 hour a day access to the latest available data. - Superfund Information Service
The EFIS Superfund Information Service (SIS) is the most comprehensive EPA Superfund document database available in the U.S. today. It is a fully searchable database containing complete document detail for virtually every Superfund Consent Decree and Administrative Order on Consent (AOC) issued from the inception of the EPA Superfund program to date. - Statista - until 5/7/2012
Access the most relevant and important statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries. - American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1-5 - until 5/25/2012
includes digitized images of American magazines and journals. More than 7,600 periodicals comprising over seven million pages are available, eclipsing all other online resources in this area. The collection is available in five series:
Series 1 (1691-1820)
Series 2 (1821-1837)
Series 3 (1838-1852)
Series 4 (1853-1865)
Series 5 (1866-1877) - Arte Público: The Latino-Hispanic Historical Collection - until 5/25/2012
The Latino-Hispanic Historical Collection—available in two series— draws its content from the “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project,” the largest national project ever to locate, preserve and disseminate Latino-Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form, from colonial times to 1960. Series 1 presents a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, political commentary and culture. Series 2 presents thematic content focusing on Hispanic civil rights leaders, religious thinkers and women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. - World War II Archives - until 5/25/2012
over half a million pages of original historical documents compiled from collections at the National Archives, offering a wide range of materials chronicling events during the Second World War, providing an in-depth perspective of military activities while also documenting the lives of individual military personnel on land, in the air, and at sea; made up of several collections such as the Military conferences, captured German records, foreign military studies, JAG case files, Nuremberg interrogation records, submarine patrol reports, and more. - Books 24X7 - until 05/01/2012
Access code: RVERP
Access ebooks from this Swets collection in the subjects of well-being, business, IT, engineering, and leadership. - IBISWorld USA - until 5/4/2012
thoroughly researched, accurate and current business information on 700+ American industries; industry reports consist of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more. - Classical Music in Video - until 05/11/2012
This collection contains performances of all forms of classical music, including major performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world. - University Press Scholarship Online - until 5/25/2012
the full text of over 7,000+ academic monographs in 21 subject areas covering the humanities, social sciences, medicine, and law from six leading university presses
Expired Trials for the 2012 Academic Year
- Gale Virtual Reference Library - Please take our survey on the next tab!
database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. - APA Books E-Collections - Please take our survey on the next tab!
scholarly and professional books published by the American Psychological Association; copyright 2009-2011 - Image Quest - Please take our survey on the next tab!
More than a million rights-cleared high-quality images from over 40 of the best collections in the world; fully cleared for academic use - Sage Reference Online - Please take our survey on the next tab!
More than 300 authoritative, award-winning, interdisciplinary handbooks and encyclopedias - R2 Digital Library - Please take our survey on the next tab!
Aggregated database of . . . more than 2,200 ebooks in medicine, nursing, and allied health, from over 40 leading health science publishers - Films on Demand - Please take our survey on the next tab!

More than 7,100 educational video titles and 83,000 segments, available through FMG's streaming video portal - Social Explorer - Please take our survey on the next tab!
Quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information; creates fast, intuitive, and appealing maps and reports - Oxford Art Online - Please take our survey on the next tab!
the most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day - Naxos Video Library - Please take our survey on the next tab!
streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. - Britannica Ebooks - Please take our survey on the next tab!
Hundreds of new circulating titles and Britannica’s popular reference titles that were previously available
only in print are now in E-Book format. - American Theatre in Video -Please take our survey on the next tab.
more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors - Classical Scores Library - Please take our survey on the next tab.
over 400,000 pages of the most important classical scores and manuscripts, allowing for the study and analysis of more than 25,000 scores - ProQuest Dissertations and Theses A&I - Please take our survey on the next tab.
This trial has ended; the world's most comprehensive abstracting and indexing of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day - CQ Researcher - Please take our survey on the next tab!
original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news; single-themed, 12,000-word reports are researched and written by a seasoned journalist - CQ Weekly - Please take our survey on the next tab!
reports on the world's most powerful legislative body completely and accurately every week - CQ Global Researcher - Please take our survey on the next tab!
definitive, in-depth coverage of global affairs - Education in Video - Please take our survey on the next tab!
More than 1,000 video titles totaling 750 hours of teaching demonstrations, etc. - Passport GMID (Euromonitor) - Please take our survey on the next tab!
business-related statistics, market research reports, and more - Counseling and Therapy in Video - Please take our survey on the next tab!
video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling - Filmaker's Library - Please take our survey on the next tab!
Username: newvideo
Password: astreet2011 - Springer Images - until 4/24/2011
a growing collection of scientific images that spans the
scientific, technical and medical fields, including high-quality clinical images from images.MD; currently over 1.5 million images - BenthamDirect - until 5/23/2011
Pharmaceutical and biomedical research journals from Bentham Science Publishers - eHRAF Archaeology - until 5/31/2011
information on prehistory of the world . . . organized into archaeological traditions; search, browse by location, and more - eHRAF World Cultures - until 5/31/2011
cross-cultural database; information on all aspects of cultural and social life; information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups - ARTstor - until 4/10/2011
Click "Enter the ARTstor Digital Library" to search and browse.
. . . digital library of more than one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes - Taylor & Francis E-books - until 5/31/2011
PASSWORD: naalaccessTrial
Click "Browse by Subject" in left menu to see collections by topic. 5 concurrent users per title. - ProQuest History Vault - until 6/3/2011
Includes The Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records (691,000 pages; 37 collections)
ID: ROLEOPXM
Password: 34ZXBC - Proquest Statistical Datasets Premium - until 6/3/2011
ID: ROLEO8GM
Password: RZRMZ6
a Web-based research solutions tool that provides fast and easy access to 15 billion data points from licensed and public domain datasets within an easy-to-use interface. With this dynamic new product, you can scan the contents of over 580 datasets, select subjects and variables of interest, and view your data in side-by-side tables and charts. - CRCnetBASE - until 6/3/2011
USERNAME: naalaccess32010
PASSWORD: naalaccessTrial
Access to all CRCnetBASE eBook and database content; premier scientific and technical references - Small Business Reference Center - until 6/30/2011
a comprehensive resource for small business owners and those interested in starting a business, offering full-text periodicals and reports, sample business plans, U.S. tax forms, videos and reference books - CHEMnetBASE - until 6/30/2011
USERNAME: naalaccess32010
PASSWORD: naalaccessTrial
award-winning dictionaries and handbooks in searchable database formats - Medici.tv - until 6/20/2011
Over 600 free streaming live concerts, operas, ballets with the greatest artists of our time on a high-quality audio-visual platform; videos are available for viewing at any time and as many times as you wish - Naxos Music Library - Trial until June 2011
The world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 46,000 CDs with more than 653,000 tracks, standard and rare repertoire."- (publisher's web site) This database is limited to 5 simultaneous users; if you can't get in the first time, try again later. - MLA Literary Research Guide until 8/7/2011
An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies, 5th ed. by James L. Harner - Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation - until 9/10/2011
With 845 titles by 277 authors, the collection is a treasury of theological writings, biblical commentaries, confessional documents, social and political works, sermons, letters, polemical treatises, and other key documents from this critical epoch in European history. - PrivCo - until 9/30/2011
premier source for business and financial research on major privately held companies . . . By combining the very best financial analysts, editorial quality review, market research, and our proprietary data technology, PrivCo is dedicated to producing intelligent, in-depth business and financial research on the other 90% of major corporations. - The Early Republic - until 10/5/2011
17 volumes of primary material documenting the actions, debates, and thoughts of the First Federal Congress and its members, collected by the First Federal Congress Project (FFCP) and published by the Johns Hopkins University Press - Access World News Collection - until 10/14/2011
Includes The Birmingham News - an unparalleled collection for academic libraries, featuring thousands of U.S. and global news sources, most available online exclusively through NewsBank. This includes 38 news sources in Alabama. - African-American and Native American Archives - until 10/18/2011
over one million pages of original historical documents pertaining to the African American experience over several centuries and more than 1.8 million pages of original historical documents pertaining to Native American history and life from the 18th through the 20th century; use the dropdown at the top of the screen to toggle between the 2 databases - R2 Digital Library - until 10/15/2011
ebook content from top health-sciences publishers; select from thousands of resources; includes Brandon Hill and Doody's Core Titles - EBSCO databases - until 10/31/2011
Academic Search Complete, Caribbean Search, Chemical Hazard Information Library,
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text, EconLit with Full Text,
EconLit, Entrepreneurial Studies Source, Political Science Complete, World Politics Review,
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection (Series 1-4: 1691-1865),
African American Archive, American Revolution Archive
GIVE THESE A TRY - SEARCH INDIVIDUALLY OR IN GROUPS
Feedback: lanorthr@samford.edu - The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism - until 10/24/2011
comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements. It includes more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. - Family Studies Databases from EBSCO - 10/20/2011
Abstracts in Social Gerontology, Child Development & Adolescent Studies, Family Studies Abstracts, Family & Society Studies Worldwide™, and SocINDEX with Full Text. Please email lanorthr@samford.edu with your comments about these databases. - Marquis Biographies Online - until 10/31/2011
Username: NAALIB
Password: NAALIB1
up-to-the-minute biographies of leaders and achievers from around the world in the areas of business, law, science, medicine, the arts, government, entertainment and more – in one convenient source! It provides access to all biographies that have appeared in 24 Marquis Who's Who print titles since 1985, plus historical biographies from our Who Was Who in America volumes from 1607–1985. - ArtSTOR - until 11/02/2011
more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research - IPA Source - until 11/04/2011
the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Now with over 5598 texts including 964 aria texts! - Plunkett Research Online - until 11/3/11Username: samford
Password: trial
With Plunkett Research Online, you can create a customized report on your area of interest with whatever information is important to you. - PsycTESTS and PsycTHERAPY - until 11/15/2011
PsycTESTS is a repository for the full text of psychological tests and measures as well as a rich source of structured information about the tests. PsycTHERAPY is a database of streaming psychotherapy demonstration videos; users may create playlists, clips, search transcripts of videos, and more. - ReferenceUSA - until 11/17/2011
U. S., Canadian, and International business databases; healthcare; consumers/lifestyles database; new movers/homeowners database - Publishing Opportunities Database - until 11/17/2011
the most extensive listing of opportunities for professors, post-doctorates and other students interested in presenting and publishing their research papers. Information from three distinct sources is combined and presented in a convenient, intuitive format. - Morningstar Investment Research Center - until 11/30/2011
a real-time turnkey solution for investment research; access to many popular Premium features of Morningstar.com®, including research and independent opinions on thousands of mutual funds, stocks, and exchange-traded funds.
Username: samford
Password: library - VAST: Academic Video Online - until 11/17/2011
VAST is a package of video collections, accessible through the new Academic Video Online cross-search. VAST is growing steadily and will include access to 20,000 videos in 2013. - Nutrition and Food Sciences Database - until 12/15/2011
A unique resource on nutrition and food science, covering food "from farm to fork" and beyond. Also includes food safety, food technology and food security. The bibliographic database contains over 880,000 records, updated weekly. - CAB Ebooks - until 12/15/2011
Books are indexed and retrievable as chapters, ensuring that a search of available titles will render the most relevant results and save you valuable time; subjects include agriculture, veterinary science, environmental sciences, human health, food, and nutrition, plant sciences, and travel and tourism. - Index to Printed Music (IPM) - until 02/02/2012
IPM is the only electronic resource for finding individual pieces of music published in standard scholarly editions. Included is music from ancient Greek times to the present. Detailed indexing makes IPM an invaluable resource for music researchers and students, as content is searchable by composer name or ID, editor, genre, language, librettist, format, publisher name, series, title, instrumentation and/or number of instruments, and results can be limited by genre and/or language. - PrivCo - until 02/29/2012
premier source for business and financial research on major privately held companies . . . By combining the very best financial analysts, editorial quality review, market research, and our proprietary data technology, PrivCo is dedicated to producing intelligent, in-depth business and financial research on the other 90% of major corporations. - North American Women's Letters and Diaries -- until 3/23/2012
the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters . . . includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database. - Gale Business Insights - until 3/1/2012
source for international business intelligence offering the most comprehensive and convenient way to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries - Gale eBooks - until 3/31/2012
Access to all Gale ebooks on the new enhanced platform. - Criminal Justice Abstracts - until 3/31/2012
more than 200,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole. - MEDLINE Complete - until 3/31/2012
authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE Complete uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals. MEDLINE Complete is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals . . . - Britannica Image Quest - until 3/31/2012
over two million images from some of the best collections in the world, including Britannica, Dorling Kindersley, Getty Images, the National Portrait Gallery of London, National Geographic, Oxford Scientific, and more than 50 other leading names. All images are rights-cleared for educational use. - ReferenceUSA - until 03/31/2012
U. S., Canadian, and International business databases; healthcare; consumers/lifestyles database; new movers/homeowners database - D&B Key Business Ratios Online - until 3/31/2012
Username: KBR
Password: Mergent
This powerful online tool lets researchers examine industry
benchmarks compiled from D&B’s database of public and
private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios (users
choose a one-year or three-year set of ratios) for public and private companies in 800 lines of business. - D&B First Research - until 3/31/2012
Username: Firstresearch
Password: Mergent
Industry profiles cover 700 key industries with in-depth, up-to-date information and insight. These include industry overviews, the competitive landscape, products, operations, finance, regional and international issues, and labor statistics. - Hoover's Online - until 3/31/2012
Username: Hoovers
Password: Mergent
This database of 40,000+ company profiles brings together company histories, news stories, financials, federal filings, executive biographies and more. The database also now includes limited profiles on 23 million businesses worldwide. - Proquest Biological Science Collection - until 3/31/2012
Over 30 million Abstract & Index records, Over 5 million indexed tables and figures, Over 600 full text journals; coverage is 1982-present - Proquest Criminal Justice - until 3/31/2012
comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. The database bridges theory with practice by providing information geared to those interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security – as well as scholars and other researchers who study the causes, trends, and societal impacts of crime. - eHRAF World Cultures - until 3/31/2012
cross-cultural database; information on all aspects of cultural and social life; information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups - eHRAF Archaeology - until 3/31/2012
information on prehistory of the world . . . organized into archaeological traditions; search, browse by location, and more - Guide to Reference - until 4/2/2012
An editorial team of reference librarians and subject experts have selected and annotated some 16,000 entries, both print and web-based, free and subscription. Updated regularly. - IGI Global Educational Technologies Ebooks - until 4/2/2012
This fully-searchable, customizable database provides access to all chapters included in IGI Global books that have been published on the core information science discipline, educational technologies. Titles included in this collection represent IGI Global's unique focus on the role, impact, and effective use of technology within e-learning, distance education, mobile learning, virtual learning environments, and more essential topics. - IGI Global Medical Technologies Ebooks - until 4/2/2012
This fully-searchable, customizable database provides access to all chapters included in IGI Global books that have been published on the core information science discipline, medical informatics. Titles included in this collection represent IGI Global's unique focus on the role, impact, and effective use of technology within medical science, healthcare information systems, bioinformatics and more essential topics. - IGI Global Social Technologies Ebooks - until 4/2/2012
This fully-searchable, customizable database provides access to all chapters included in IGI Global books that have been published on the core information science discipline, social technologies. Titles included in this collection represent IGI Global's unique focus on the role, impact, and effective use of technology within social computing, human computer interaction, e-collaboration, end user computing, and more essential topics. - Philosopher's Index - until 04/29/2012
a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews. - The John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera - until 04/29/2012
color scans of a portion of the John Johnson collection that resides in the Bodleian Library of Oxford, England. The resulting database provides direct access to rare primary source materials and evidence of Britain's cultural, social, industrial and technological heritage. - ProQuest History Vault - until 4/9/2012
Includes Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975. Collections on the Vietnam War cover U.S. involvement in the region from the early days of the Kennedy administration, through the escalation of the war during the Johnson administration, to the final resolution of the war at the Paris Peace Talks and the evacuation of U.S. troops in 1973. Along the way, documents in this module trace the actions and decisions at the highest levels of the U.S. foreign policy apparatus, as well as events on the ground in Vietnam, from the perspective of State Department officials, Associated Press reporters, and members of the U.S. Armed forces, including the Marines and the Military Assistance Command Vietnam. - Passport GMID - until 04/06/2012
provides business-related statistics, market research reports, and more. Coverage includes information on 205 countries, their consumers, and markets, with extended data and analysis for 80 countries. Use Passport GMID to identify and compare statistics/reports for demographic, business strategy, market, consumer, industry, and company research, and to identify information such as market size, brand share, consumer profiles, and more.

Loading...
